The Mathematics of Computer Science !!! - An Introduction.

The Mathematics of Computer Science !!! - An Introduction.

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

Hey folks, hope you’re all doing well. I’m starting a series of blogs on how mathematics is related to computer science. So if you find these blogs interesting, knowledgeable and worth sharing so do show your support by sharing these to your friends, colleagues and mates.

So folks have you ever wondered what is computer science comprised of, how real world mathematics is applied to design various algorithms and what is the thought process behind it ? As the title suggests, the intuition behind all algorithms is derived from Mathematics.

I know most of us are scared of math, even I’m scared too. But yeah, computer science is mostly mathematics. Sometimes what happens with me is whenever I try to learn any mathematical concept, certain questions arise in my mind like —

  1. What is this sign ?

  2. What is this function doing ?

  3. What does the boundary condition means ?

  4. Is it really necessary doing all this ?

  5. Is this relevant to me in future ?

Why I decided to start this series ?

In “The Mathematics of Computer Science”, I’m not going to teach you mathematics involved in Computer Science rather I will share with you my experience from being a naive student who loathed mathematics and now has fallen for the real world applications of it!!

When I started learning algorithms in detail, I observed a pattern of immense use of Mathematical concepts in the structure and design of these algorithms. The intuition behind every concept in computer science is derived from some basic concept of Math. It was mesmerizing for me to see the integration of two vast disciplines. For instance when I was studying Time & Space complexities of various algorithms, I realized these complexities aren’t machine dependent but math dependent.

To be honest- “Jis maths se pehle dar lagta tha abb vo fun lagra hai.”

It’s right when they say, Math is the language of the world. I hope through this series I will be able to change you perspective towards Math!!

Stay tuned for upcoming one’s❤️.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Shashwat Gupta by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!